Preparing a CV & cover letter and applying for season jobs

Back in about March, I emailed several companies to see when they would open to applications. I wanted to be able to get the ball rolling as soon as possible and make sure I could fit interviews around my summer plans. The CV didn’t need much tweaking, but I put off writing a cover letter for ages. I didn’t see much online specific to ski season jobs, so here are a couple of tips if you’re working on your own seasonal applications. My only claims to knowledge are that I did a lot of googling and was offered interviews for many of the jobs I applied for.

1) Put any relevant experience into your CV. So far, almost all the jobs I’ve had have been in the hospitality industry. I made sure I emphasised them and what I’d learnt from them.

2) What if you don’t think you have relevant experience? There must be a reason you want the job – think about what makes you think you can do it. Emphasise what is there in your background that makes you suitable for the position, rather than what isn’t there.

3) If your recent job experience doesn’t seem to relate directly, figure out how to make it relevant. I’ve worked as a lifeguard – not necessarily related to wanting to be a chalet maid, but it’s a job which requires responsibility and making quick decisions in a crisis. Think about the key skills you’ve gained from a job and work out how it’s relevant to the seasonal role you’re going for, then work that in to your application somewhere.

4) The ‘tell us about you’ questions. Companies want staff who amongst other things are interesting for guests to talk to. You have to show them how that’s you with your answer. Do you have interesting life experiences? Worked or travelled abroad, for example? Got an unusual hobby? Find a way to make yourself sound interesting, give them something to ask more about at the interview.

5) Word limits on applications. Never just write a few sentences, hit the word limit, and be done. Instead, write down all the things you want to say, then edit it down, finding tighter ways to phrase it. You’ll get much more into your answer that way.

Leave a comment