A foray into vegetarian food

In my last post, I said that I have a list of dishes to try out. This weekend, my mum was in town visiting, so I took the opportunity of having her and my brother around to practice cooking for someone other than just me. One thing: my mum is a vegetarian. A perusal of my list, carefully culled from the recipe books, showed that the vegetarian things either had stuff I didn’t like or stuff she didn’t like in them. Cue a leap to the internet! One of the vegetarian mains served at the hotel I work for is very tasty, so I tried to find a similar recipe. I ended up making ‘Sweet potato, leek and feta parcels’.

It went surprisingly well. There are a couple of things I’d like to tweak – I served them on lettuce, which of course went limp under the warm pastry, and it was quite dry, so I need to find something to go with it to combat that. I was thinking maybe a pesto, but that could end up overpowering the taste, so I might go back to the wisdom of the internet and see if there are any suggestions. I’ve got leftovers to use up myself this week, so let’s see if I can get something together and try again 🙂

Leave a comment